New Employee Spotlight – Nathanial Thompson

We’d like to take a moment and recognize our newest employees to Green River. Please take a moment to learn more about them, in their own words. thompson-nathanial

Please tell everyone your new title and a little bit about your professional background.
Help Desk- Desktop Support Team. I spent 5 years at Best Buy, I worked my way up from Seasonal Geek Squad to Geek Squad Supervisor, then got promoted to Best Buy corporate and did Competitive Intelligence and Analysis. From there, I worked for a few smaller businesses. Finally, I settled in at a Business-to-Business IT support company and did Tier1 Support, Dispatch and IT Project Management.

What drew you to apply to Green River?
I heard wonderful things about how great of a place this was to work and the fantastic opportunities to learn and grow in a positive work environment.

On the car ride to work, what do you listen to?
I like to listen to many different kinds of music on my ride to work. Today, I listened to Bruno Mars, Shinedown, Eric Clapton and Jay Z.

What was the very first job you ever had?
I worked at Wild Waves and operated the Ring-Of-Fire. I transferred to the Games Department and got really good at playing fair/carnival games.

What about your new position is most exciting for you?
I love the opportunity to help resolve IT issues for employees and learning from the tougher IT issues that come along the way.

What is one thing you’d love to accomplish in your first year at Green River?
I want to get my CCNA Certification: Routing and Switching.

What three accomplishments are you most proud of in your life?

  • I am a proud father of 2 wonderful children.
  • I Beat Cancer!!
  • I learned to play the guitar and have performed Live.

If your coworkers were to give you an office nickname, what would that be? Why?
Probably NATE! That is one of my common Email signatures coming from a background of working with a lot of other people named Nate and it was an easy way for people to remember which Nate I was.

For Green River’s annual talent show (this doesn’t actually exist), what hidden talent would you showcase for everyone?
I would perform standup comedy. I have always enjoyed making people laugh.

If G.R.E.E.N. were an acronym for something, what would each letter stand for?
Great attitude!
Ready to learn!
Every day have fun while being the best!
Each day brings something new!
Never stop smiling and laughing!

Leave a Reply

