New Employee Spotlight – Anicah Anderson

We’d like to take a moment and recognize our newest employees to Green River. Please take a moment to learn more about them, in their own words. anderson-anicah

Please tell everyone your new title and a little bit about your professional background.
I am very excited to be the new Program Coordinator at the Kent campus! Before coming to GRC, I worked as an international students’ recruiter in a Japanese school in Tokyo, Japan. Then, I worked as an account executive for a telecom company. After arriving in the United States, I was a Chinese language tutor for children and adults. Then, I worked as a buyer for an import/export company. After a few years of being a full time mom (the most difficult job of them all by the way!), I went to work for a non-profit agency, which helps disabled people manage their social security monetary benefits. I’ve also been an assistant teacher for the ESOL program here at GRC, as well as a computer lab assistant. Now I am here full time, and I could not be more excited! I look forward to working with you all and having many rewarding years at GRC.

What drew you to apply to Green River?
I was drawn to GRC because it enables me to use my language skills and my experience working with people from many different cultures. I also enjoy the idea of being able to share all of my experiences with everyone.

On the car ride to work, what do you listen to?
I listen to everything – my kids’ pop music, to news radio and soft rock.

What was the very first job you ever had?
The first summer after I graduated high school, I worked as a translator for the Pan- Asian games in Beijing.

What about your new position is most exciting for you?
I am most excited about being able to work with so many of the wonderful stuff and students here at GRC, many of whom I know already.

What is one thing you’d love to accomplish in your first year at Green River?
In my first year at this position I plan on mastering the many aspects of my jobs – there is so much to learn.

What three accomplishments are you most proud of in your life?
I am so proud of my two daughters and my niece. They make me proud every day.

If your coworkers were to give you an office nickname, what would that be? Why?
I don’t know…

For Green River’s annual talent show (this doesn’t actually exist), what hidden talent would you showcase for everyone?
My hidden talent would be my ability to clear the room when I sing.

If G.R.E.E.N. were an acronym for something, what would each letter stand for?
Genius
Resource
Education
Environment
National

Leave a Reply

