New Employee Spotlight – Richard Scherer

We’d like to take a moment and recognize our newest employees to Green River. Please take a moment to learn more about them, in their own words.

scherer-richard
Please tell everyone your new title and a little bit about your professional background.
I will be working as a custodian on swing shift at Green River, helping to keep the school looking great at all times. I have worked in the custodial field for about 4 to 5 years in places such as Marshalls, Jack in the Box , Clean as a Whistle company, and Hallmark Manor Nursing Home. I also spent 13 years in the baking industry working for many different companies.

What drew you to apply to Green River?
I came to Green River looking to work for a good place, to grow as a top notch custodian and to enjoy the beautiful campus area it offers.

On the car ride to work, what do you listen to?
On the car ride to work , I listen to 710 for all the sports information and current happenings.

What was the very first job you ever had?
The very first job I had was working at the Windmill nursery in Sumner for about 4 months.

What about your new position is most exciting for you?
I am looking forward to learning new ways and styles of cleaning and building care for the campus.

What is one thing you’d love to accomplish in your first year at Green River?
I want to accomplish in year one the routine and ordinary things that are wanted and needed done.

What three accomplishments are you most proud of in your life?
The 3 top accomplishments in my life are: 1- traveling to a foreign country for the very first time and by myself.   2- Meeting and marrying my future wife from the Philippines.  3- Taking care of my injured mother in 1990 and caring for my father who had a very bad stroke in 2001.

If your coworkers were to give you an office nickname, what would that be? Why?
If I were given a nickname it would ether be FLASH, because I really like thunderstorms, or CRICKET, because I can whistle a cricket-like sound and other whistling sounds

For Green River’s annual talent show (this doesn’t actually exist), what hidden talent would you showcase for everyone?
My best talent is painting landscape types of pictures in acrylic paint.

If G.R.E.E.N. were an acronym for something, what would each letter stand for?
G
raduation
Reading
Education
Exam
Necessary

Leave a Reply

