New Employee Spotlight – Zulfiya Kadimova

We’d like to take a moment and recognize our newest employees to Green River. Please take a moment to learn more about them, in their own words.

KADIMOVA, ZULFIYAPlease tell everyone your new title and a little bit about your professional background.
I have just been hired as the Full-Time Program Assistant in the TSW department (Transitional Studies & Wellness). I worked at this position as an Office Assistant (hourly) employee for four years.

What drew you to apply to Green River?
I was introduced to GRC when I came to USA and started as an ESOL student. In the last 10 years I got more involved with GRC. From 2012 I started as an employee. When a new position was available I could not miss being more involved with friendly faculty/staff and a beautiful campus.

On the car ride to work, what do you listen to?
On the way to work I like to listen to the radio, news and “Power Turkey” through the phone.

What was the very first job you ever had?
My first job was in upholstery in a furniture company.

What about your new position is most exciting for you?
Actually, I worked at this position for the last 4 years in the office with my supervisor and my two other colleagues. I was relying that they can help me with questions. The most exciting thing in my new position is that I’ll be by myself in the KC office, and I must find a way out from any situation on my own. Also, I am excited to meet more students and form new relationships.

What is one thing you’d love to accomplish in your first year at Green River?
I love to help more students who are learning English and going through the path that I passed. I want to provide as much as confidence to the students at Kent Campus, so they do not have to run to Main Campus for their issues. Also, I would love to learn my job well enough and see myself as a Program Coordinator after a year.

What three accomplishments are you most proud of in your life?

    1. I raised two beautiful, intelligent and well-educated sons.
    2. I came to USA with zero English and was able to get my AA degree as a Medical Office Assistant.
    3. My career as a Program Assistant.

If your coworkers were to give you an office nickname, what would that be? Why?
I do not like to give a nicknames to anyone and would not like to have one. All of us have been given beautiful names by our parents why not to use it instead?

For Green River’s annual talent show (this doesn’t actually exist), what hidden talent would you showcase for everyone?
I have one singer and one poet among siblings, but unfortunately my parents have not presented me with any talents. I do enjoy sewing.

If G.R.E.E.N. were an acronym for something, what would each letter stand for?
G
et
Really
Excited about
Everything
Never stop smiling

Leave a Reply

