New Employee Spotlight – Angelina Benjamin

We’d like to take a moment and recognize our newest employees to Green River. Please take a moment to learn more about them, in their own words. Benjamin, Angelina

Please tell everyone your new title and a little bit about your professional background.
I’m the Program Coordinator for the Auburn Center and the Center of Excellence in Education. My professional background was primarily in the legal field where I worked as a legal secretary for a personal injury attorney for many years, as well as a docket clerk at a public defense agency.

What drew you to apply to Green River?
First, I’ll start by saying I’m Green River Alumni…GO GATORS!! I learned a lot about myself at Green River with the support and guidance of faculty and student affairs. I earned my Bachelor’s degree last year and thought it would be great to work in education and help support other students, so when the opportunity presented itself to return to Green River I jumped on it!

On the car ride to work, what do you listen to?
On the ride to work I listen to a combination of Sirius Radio stations but I’m not sure what they are. As long as the music is upbeat, I’ll listen to it.

What was the very first job you ever had?
My very first job was as a cashier at Taco Bell. I’m reminded of my first job on a regular basis, to this day my uncle calls me “Angelina Taco Bell”.

What about your new position is most exciting for you?
What is most exciting about my position is that I have the opportunity to experience different perspectives of education. My position is actually two positions in one. In the morning I support the Auburn Center and the Aviation Program, and in the afternoon I support the Director of Center of Excellence for Careers in Education.

What is one thing you’d love to accomplish in your first year at Green River?
I quickly found out there’s a TON of acronyms used in education that I was unaware of. So if I can be in on an acronym-filled conversation and understand what’s being discussed, I’ll be happy!

What three accomplishments are you most proud of in your life?

    1. Returning to college after many years and earning my Bachelor’s Degree in Business Administration from UW Tacoma.
    2. Having raised three focused and goal-oriented children who are accomplishing their higher education and career goals.
    3. My high school Spanish teacher said something that always stuck with me. A student said that a food we were trying for the first time was weird. The teacher told the student, “It’s not weird…it’s different. It’s not better, its not worse. It’s just DIFFERENT.” I’m proud to say I’ve been able to maintain that mentality throughout my life, and it’s shaped how I relate to new people and new experiences.

If your coworkers were to give you an office nickname, what would that be? Why?
My office nickname would probably be Pollyanna. I always approach situations with a positive outlook and positive expectations, and have the ability to find the bright side to situations.

For Green River’s annual talent show (this doesn’t actually exist), what hidden talent would you showcase for everyone?
The hidden talent I would show case in the Green River talent show would be stand-up comedy…actually I don’t think it’s a hidden talent, I just like making people laugh.

If G.R.E.E.N. were an acronym for something, what would each letter stand for?
G
aining
Really
Exceptional
Education
Necessary

Leave a Reply

