New Employee Spotlight – Alan Nguyen

We’d like to take a moment and recognize our newest employees to Green River. Please take a moment to learn more about them, in their own words. Nguyen, Alan

Please tell everyone your new title and a little bit about your professional background.
International Student Advisor in International Programs. I have worked in mostly in higher ed, but have some experience at a boarding school as well. I worked at Everest College in Bremerton, Solomon Christian School in Edmonds and Seattle Central College previous to coming here. I have been working with international students close to 6 years now and hope to continue that trend for a long time.

What drew you to apply to Green River?
I actually used to study here when I was in Running Start through Kentwood High School when I was younger. I have fond memories as a student here. Also, the change in responsibilities from my previous position at Central to the one here will probably give me more room to grow professionally.

On the car ride to work, what do you listen to?
Podcasts, Sports Radio, Spotify

What was the very first job you ever had?
I worked for a catering company for a couple summers while in High School. A lot of big corporate (e.g. Microsoft, Boeing, T-Mobile) summer bbqs were hosted there in North Bend. It was hard grueling work in the hot sun washing dishes in what was basically a metal box.

What about your new position is most exciting for you?
The fact that this is a homecoming for me is probably most exciting. So much has changed in the last 10 or so years!

What is one thing you’d love to accomplish in your first year at Green River?
I would like to target and create a project that will be hugely beneficial to International Programs, Green River at large, whether it is our processes or to help our students.

What three accomplishments are you most proud of in your life?

  1. When I graduated with my bachelor’s degree from WSU, that was probably my proudest moment
  2. When I got my first career job out of college
  3. When I bought my house

If your coworkers were to give you an office nickname, what would that be? Why?
A student once called me a “General”, like a military officer, because of the tone of voice I have sometimes. He linked it to my upbringing since my father is ex-military. That nickname stuck with a lot of coworkers.

For Green River’s annual talent show (this doesn’t actually exist), what hidden talent would you showcase for everyone?
For the annual talent show, I would have to share my karate skills since I did it for about five years off and on.

If G.R.E.E.N. were an acronym for something, what would each letter stand for?
G
ive
Respect,
Expect
Encouragement and
Nice things will come

Leave a Reply

