New Employee Spotlight – Barry Robinson

We’d like to take a moment and recognize our newest employees to Green River. Please take a moment to learn more about them, in their own words. Robinson, Barry

Please tell everyone your new title and a little bit about your professional background.
I am the new Dean of Health Sciences and Technology. My background is in clinical research and higher education. I studied the effects of viruses in the body, how the immune system responded to the viruses and how multiple viruses seemed to be coordinating their efforts within the same host. I did my research at various institutions: Eastern Kentucky University, Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Centers, Johns Hopkins, University of Kentucky and University of Washington. I have a bachelor’s degree from Brescia University, master’s degrees from Eastern Kentucky University and Capella University and a PhD from University of Kentucky.

What drew you to apply to Green River?
Green River had gone through a rough period in the school’s history and I had heard that they were in the process of rebuilding. During this rebuilding process, they wanted to recruit eager, motivating and high spirited individuals to return to where the school was prior to the rough period; while keeping in mind that the focus was on making sure that students had the best opportunity for success. I love sharing knowledge and have a reputation of setting standards that students can reach but they have to meet me half way because I cannot force them to do anything that they do not want to. I was drawn to apply to Green River because I wanted to be a part of the revitalization of this great school and do all I can to assist in getting everyone back to where they were before the rough period.

On the car ride to work, what do you listen to?
This one is easy because I do not listen to anything but my thoughts…SMILES!!!

What was the very first job you ever had?
My first unofficial job was cutting my grandmother’s and her friends’ grass. My very first tax paying job was working for a catholic restaurant called St. Martin’s Afro-German Tearoom as a busser/entertainer/waiter.

What about your new position is most exciting for you?
The most exciting part of my new position is meeting all the wonderful people and getting to know them better; not to mention, learning from everyone. I believe that there is an exchange of knowledge whether we realize it or not…we learn from all those that we encounter. So, Health Sciences and Technology be prepared to teach me all that you can…I am here to learn and help you the best that I can.

What is one thing you’d love to accomplish in your first year at Green River?
The main things that I would love to accomplish within the first year would be to be able to feel more at ease in this position and have gain a strong relationship with the individuals in Health Sciences and Technology. Next, I have set a goal to recognize all the administration, faculty and staff by first name. This will be a great challenge since I am bad with names.

What three accomplishments are you most proud of in your life?
First, my son…second, my continued education…third, having had the opportunity to find love.

If your coworkers were to give you an office nickname, what would that be? Why?
Happy…because I always try to make at least one person smile a day; more is always better but the minimum is one.

For Green River’s annual talent show (this doesn’t actually exist), what hidden talent would you showcase for everyone?
A hidden talent to be showcased at the Annual Green River Talent Show…would be making shadow puppets in a marionette mini-stage. Seriously, I would have to say it would probably be ballroom dancing.

If G.R.E.E.N. were an acronym for something, what would each letter stand for?
G
row continuously
Refresh your mind and thoughts
Explore the world around you
Experience life to the fullest
Never give up on your dreams

Leave a Reply

