New Employee Spotlight – Katie Markham

We’d like to take a moment and recognize our newest employees to Green River. Please take a moment to learn more about them, in their own words. Markham, Katie

Please tell everyone your new title and a little bit about your professional background.
I am the Building Secretary for Cedar Hall. I was previously an Office Assistant for Salish Hall, Science Center, Cedar Hall and Technology Center. Before Green River College, I worked for Geico’s Claims department and Mercer University’s Enrollment Services in Central Georgia.

What drew you to apply to Green River?
I am drawn to the atmosphere at Green River College. We are blessed to work on a beautiful campus that is filled with interesting and talented people.

On the car ride to work, what do you listen to?
I am an audiobook fan! I like to “read” a book or two every week.

What was the very first job you ever had?
My first job was encoding checks with magnetic ink at SunTrust Bank. I loved it!

What about your new position is most exciting for you?
I think the Math and Technology instructors are so much fun! I also enjoy the interactions with students on a daily basis.

What is one thing you’d love to accomplish in your first year at Green River?
I would like to make the Secretary’s Desk a place everyone feels comfortable stopping by for help. I want each person I work with to know they are welcome and understood.

What three accomplishments are you most proud of in your life?

  • I am proud of my volunteer work with Girl Scouts and FIRST Robotics,
  • of the people my teenagers are becoming,
  • and I am proud to be finishing my BS in Information Technology this year.

If your coworkers were to give you an office nickname, what would that be? Why?
They call me “Katie-Bell” or “Katie-May”. I’m not sure why. I think my southern accent explains it, in part, but southerners also call me “Katie-Bell”. I was named for my grandmother. Her name is Katie Nell, so “Katie-Bell” really fits.

For Green River’s annual talent show (this doesn’t actually exist), what hidden talent would you showcase for everyone?
Since it doesn’t exist, I will say stand-up comedy. I would be terrified if it did exist.

If G.R.E.E.N. were an acronym for something, what would each letter stand for?
G
et
Ready
Engage
Education
Now

Leave a Reply

