New Employee Spotlight – Yesenia Escoto

We’d like to take a moment and recognize our newest employees to Green River. Please take a moment to learn more about them, in their own words.

Please tell everyone your new title and a little bit about your professional background.Escoto, Yesenia
My new title is Program Assistant for Youth Re-Engagement Department. I have taught in a Pre-School program for the last couple of years, worked as a Supervisor in the agriculture business, plus was employed as a server and shift manager at a winery at Lake Chelan.

What drew you to apply to Green River?
I have always felt immense satisfaction in helping others. Working with pre-school and school age students gave me the opportunity to learn and empower other students to reach their full potential. I am excited and looking forward to this opportunity to help the Green River students.

On the car ride to work, what do you listen to?
On the car ride to work I enjoy listening to Movin 92.5 with Jubal and Brooke in the morning. I listen to all different music; country, R&B, Hip-Hop, banda, cumbias, corridos, and much more. Music is a getaway for me it takes me to a new world where I can get lost and relax.

What was the very first job you ever had?
The very first job I had was working as a busser/host at the BBQ for Lake Chelan Winery.

What about your new position is most exciting for you?
I will love the opportunity to work with older students and continuing to help and assist them in any way I can. I enjoy meeting new people and discovering ways to empower their lives.

What is one thing you’d love to accomplish in your first year at Green River?
I would love to master and excel at my position for my first year at Green River. I believe I will be a bigger asset by understanding every part of my position along with learning the programs Green River has to offer.

What three accomplishments are you most proud of in your life?
The three biggest accomplishments I feel most proud of is being the first in my family to graduate with my Bachelor’s degree, paying for my education, and finally taking a leap of faith and starting my mezcal business in Mexico.

If your coworkers were to give you an office nickname, what would that be? Why?
My office nickname would be Mimi because that is my childhood nickname. My older brother couldn’t pronounce my middle name Noemi and as a result “Mimi” was the new me.

For Green River’s annual talent show (this doesn’t actually exist), what hidden talent would you showcase for everyone?
I would showcase touching my nose with my tongue.

If G.R.E.E.N. were an acronym for something, what would each letter stand for?
G
rowing
Resilient
Educate
Enriching
Native

Leave a Reply

