New Employee Spotlight – Jeremy Mauck

We’d like to take a moment and recognize our newest employees to Green River. Please take a moment to learn more about them, in their own words.
Mauck, Jeremy
Please tell everyone your new title and a little bit about your professional background.
I’m the new Small Business Advisor for Green River’s Small Business Development Center down on the Kent Campus.

Before I joined Green River, I most recently helped run marketing for Weyerhaeuser’s Wood Products business. Reaching farther back, I have a history in education too as I served as the Assistant Director in charge of marketing and membership for WWU’s Alumni Association.

What drew you to apply to Green River?
I currently serve as an adjunct in the BAS in Marketing and Entrepreneurship program, and saw this as a great opportunity to take it to the next level, and better serve my community, by joining the Green River team in a full-time role!

On the car ride to work, what do you listen to?
Usually nothing … the car ride is my time to think.

What was the very first job you ever had?
Lifeguard at the local YMCA.

What about your new position is most exciting for you?
The ability to work with individuals as they pursue their dream of starting a new business!

What is one thing you’d love to accomplish in your first year at Green River?
Sometimes the simple things are the most important … and truthfully, I just want to learn everyone’s name!

What three accomplishments are you most proud of in your life?

  • First and foremost, that I have a happy family, and healthy 2-year old daughter.
  • I’ve been lucky enough to travel the country and see so many great sights along the way.
  • That I’ve been able to make it this far in my career with never having to put on a tie.

If your coworkers were to give you an office nickname, what would that be? Why?
I don’t know why, but everyone at every job I’ve ever had has always just called me “Mauck” (my last name … I guess it’s fun to say or something). But I also answer to “hey you” pretty well, too.

For Green River’s annual talent show (this doesn’t actually exist), what hidden talent would you showcase for everyone?
It’d be hard to show on the stage at a ‘talent show’, but take me to the river and I’d show everyone that I’m a pretty darn good kayaker!

If G.R.E.E.N. were an acronym for something, what would each letter stand for?
You know, it is really hard to write an acronym like this … so, here’s the best I can do …

Green River is Excellent for Education Necessities

Leave a Reply

