New Employee Spotlight – Abigail Hecht

We’d like to take a moment and recognize our newest employees to Green River. Please take a moment to learn more about them, in their own words.

Hecht, Abigail

Please tell everyone your new title and a little bit about your professional background.

I am a new Program Coordinator here at the Assessment and Testing Center. I actually graduated with my AA here at GRC and then transferred to UW Tacoma afterward where I just received my Bachelor’s in Art, Media, and Culture with a focus in Literature in June of this year. Prior to coming here, I used to work in primary education as an After School Program Leader.

What drew you to apply to Green River? 

I thought it would be nice to come back as an employee to help students who may be struggling, looking for guidance, and paving their way for a better future, just like I was when I was a student here. Being in the assessment and testing center, I hope to be a happy and welcoming face for those coming in stressed out and nervous before taking their test.

On the car ride to work, what do you listen to?

I mostly listen to Korean and Japanese music in the car, but the genres I listen to range from hip-hop, ballad, R&B, acoustic, instrumental to alternative.

What was the very first job you ever had?

The very first job I had was when I was 16, and it was in the mall. It was at a place called Daiso, which is a $1.50 Japanese store!

What about your new position is most exciting for you?

The most exciting thing about my position is getting to interact with students. I look forward to meeting all kinds of students and becoming acquainted with them throughout their journey here at GRC.

What is one thing you’d love to accomplish in your first year at Green River?

The thing I want to accomplish the most this year is just remembering all of the passwords, procedures, departments, and names of my colleagues here at GRC.

What three accomplishments are you most proud of in your life?

  • The first would be having my family see me walk during my graduation.
  • The second one is actually not my own, but is for my husband. I am always proud of his successes and the progress that he has made being a 1st generation immigrant here in the U.S. It can be difficult living in a new country, so I am always proud of his perseverance and ability to maintain a positive mindset.
  • Lastly, I am proud of the bracelet I made with my elementary students during summer camp. You’ll probably see me wearing this around campus most days.

If your coworkers were to give you an office nickname, what would that be? Why?

That’s a good question. I am not sure what kind of nickname they would give me yet! I guess I’ll have to wait and find out.

For Green River’s annual talent show (this doesn’t actually exist), what hidden talent would you showcase for everyone?

I’m pretty good at picking stuff up with my feet, but is that even a talent? Other than that, I make all sorts of miniature things out of clay! If you want a mini clay animal or piece of food, just let me know.

If G.R.E.E.N. were an acronym for something, what would each letter stand for?
Get
Ready to
Educate and
E
nrich
New Students

Leave a Reply

