2016 Distinguished Faculty Award Recipients

The votes are in, and the 2016 Green River College Foundation Distinguished Faculty Award Recipients are:
2016 Distinguished Faculty2

  • Tim Broxholm, Business Management, Marketing and Entrepreneurship
  • Marisela Fleites-Lear, Spanish
  • Tonya McCabe, Business Technologies and Administrative Careers (BTAC)

The 2016 nominees also included Joy Crawford, Ken Hang, Adriana Mendoza, Michael Moreno, Tina Ostrander, Geoff Palmer and Chitra Solomonson.

Faculty members will receive their awards at commencement, Friday, June 10th at the Kent Showare Center.

Please extend your congratulations to the award recipients and nominees!


Service Awards 2016

Posted on behalf of Claire Gorenstein

September is an exciting month for our college for many reasons. Why am I talking about September when it’s only May, you say?  It’s my time to coordinate the recipients for Service Awards.  My favorite time of year. No, really!medal-1512895

We count years of service from the first day of permanent employment. For instance, if you were an adjunct or hourly employee before becoming a permanent employee (classified, exempt or tenure track faculty) we begin counting from the start date of your permanent position. If an employee leaves Green River and is rehired, we combine the years of service.

Presentation of service awards will be on Opening Day in September. Over fifty employees will be honored with awards for years of dedicated service to Green River College, ranging from five to forty-five years.

See 2016 Service Award Recipients below:

5 Years
Susan Baker, Adrienne Battle, Joy Crawford, Amnat Saephan, Eric Shea

10 Years

Judy Brenden, Mandiann Bumgarner, Deb Casey, Story Gilmore, Noland Hall, Kathryn Hoppe, Sabah Jabbouri, Alex Marchuk, Timothy McDaniel, Veun Saetern, Akiko Sakurai, Jean Sheadel, Matt Swenson, Alvin Tai

15 Years
Janet Ash, Pamela Basquez, Susan Batchelor, Catherine Cantrell, Michelle Danberg-Marshman, Danna Davis, Megan Evans, Susan Evans, Sue Finnestad, Jaeney Hoene, Carla Kane, Martha Koch, Frances Lindland, Marjorie Mackenzie, Gary Oliveira, Scott Schreiber, William Scott, Patty Sherman, Mary Singer, Jack Wells, Micki Wells, Anthony White, Lyudmila Zadneprovskaya

20 Years
Shirley Archuleta, Keith Clay, Sandra Davidson, Jennifer Dysart, Susan Fairley, Julie French, Judy Fuchs, Pie-Yon Gilge, Keith “Brad” Johnson, Dan Keene, Sergey Mikhailenko, Rochelle Mitchell, Camella Morgan, Cindy Olson, Dan Sorensen, Sandra Zirkle

25 Years
Diane Anderson, Angie Brenner, Stefanie Chapman, Bart Dowd, Sandra Mathews, Julia Nation, Lori Rapozo

30 Years
Darla Schutten

45 Years
Carmen Schmitz


Any questions? Simply send an email to hr@greenriver.edu with the subject line of “Service Award Question.”